Actionable

Oh, how the mighty fall.

So far, all I’ve been able to do is offer food a couple times a week and do a three minute body scan meditation before bed. Which I suppose is a good start but I feel like there should be a little more. At the same time, I want to be really, really careful about promising or dedicating anything if for no other reason I still don’t know what I’m looking for or what I stand for.

Going further, I’m not sure how I’m supposed to figure that out if I don’t, yanno, try stuff out.

I’m hoping to get a book of Shiva’s stories from the Mahapurana for Christmas. If I don’t, I’ll just order it myself, ha. Whatever the case, I think one good practice to add would be to read one story per week. Just sit in front of an image of Shiva and commune via story time.

I want to start writing a letter once a week, too. People have been writing stuff to the gods for ages–whether to praise them or tell them to knock it the fuck off–so I’m sure someone reads what I write.

You know . . . I just had a thought.

For my work, I use an app called Toggl. Basically you define a workspace, then a task, and start a timer for it. It’s activity tracking, essentially. I wonder if I should use that? Nah–I’ll find an Android app for that. I don’t always have Toggl up but this phone is surgically attached to my hand.

The point I was making is maybe I should write this down. Pretend like I’m freelancing or something and just put it to digital paper. There’s some accountability with an app, at least for me.

How is this tying in with my goals?

So, meditation is helpful with dealing with negative feelings and stress that turn you into a monster. It’s a good start for now–it’ll have to be more directed later. Perhaps mindfulness meditation is the next step? I’ve already got an app for it.

It is said that reading the stories of the gods has a positive effect on the mind, body, and soul, so reading the Mahapurana is good.

Writing letters can be cathartic.

In doing all this stuff, what I believe in and what I want to stand for should start to become clearer.

Most of this should be done in solitude, exploring by myself, meditating by myself. Thinking for myself.

Once a week I should clean the shrine. I’m going to go do it now really quick before I have to take my dog out one last time.

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.