Aaaaaaand the BoDO may be fucking with me

You are what you love,
not who loves you.
In a world full of the word ‘yes’,
I’m here to scream

No–no.
Where I go–go,
trouble seems to follow.

I only plugged in to save rock and roll.

It’s the BoDO’s turn this week for a weekly divination (the question: how should I approach the coming week?) I actually couldn’t tell if the deck was irritated at me, if it was just throwing up it’s hands like “I dunno, dude”, or if I’m being trolled. I actually explained to the BoDO after the reading that I wasn’t trying to be frivolous, but that I was trying to learn more about it. Since I don’t always have “big” questions to ask, if I only asked the BoDO those, I’d never learn anything. Given that the BoDO embodies the Netjeru, I like to think it might have a bit of a sense of humor. ūüėČ

Or maybe I just asked the wrong question. My inability to do anything right has been well-documented at this point.

Again, the question was: how should I approach the coming week?

Here’s the reading that, honestly, has me a bit stumped:

                      Hehut
Shu-Tefnut    Khnum

Sopdet         Anpu       Peret em Heru

Djehuty    Nekhbet    Shen Ur     Netjer Netjeru (Sopdet)

Hehut is seated in the Sirius position, so her power is the guiding principle of the reading. Hehut is one of the Ogdoad primordials, representing eternity, infinity. In the BoDO, she also represents the possibility of transcending time limitations, as well as spiritual evolution and transformation.

So, there are two interpretations that I’m thinking of. The one that came to mind first is this: I should approach the week with the assumption that there are an infinite number of ways I can use this time to grow, learn, and do fun stuff. The second interpretation that comes to mind is this: the kind of stuff the BoDO is thinking of at this point doesn’t have a time limit on it. In other words, the BoDO has given me a “snapshot” of what it sees. After lightly reflecting on all the other cards, this seems reasonable. So I should approach this week knowing there’s an infinite number of things I can do and that there’s more ahead and so there’s no need to try to rush anything.

The BoDO tends to look further ahead, and it works in cycles. I think I’ll have the most success in interpretation if I think in those terms.

Shu-Tefnut are seated in the past position, indicating past thought patterns and their influence on the future. Shu and Tefnut are proof that opposites can and do attract: Shu is a dry principle, Tefnut is a wet principle. But underlying these differences are similarities. Shu is life and Tefnut is maat–order. There cannot be one without the other. So when this card appears, you know that it’s referring to something in your life that appears to not fit with everything else, but underneath the hood, has a purpose.

Shu and Tefnut can refer to the past and future, complementing aspects, and a harmonious or beneficial union or partnership.

Last week I got in touch with a coworker to help me with this big cache problem I’m working on, so I think that’s one thing the Shu-Tefnut card is referring to. I’m also making pretty decent friends with this coworker, even though we don’t have all that much in common at first glance. That might be what the Shu-Tefnut card is referring to.

I feel like I’m trying to introduce more of the love and harmony you see in this card into my life.

Khnum is seated in a future position, where he indicates a guideline for future actions. The general thrust of my life this year will involve making concrete plans, then taking concrete steps to bring them to fruition. The week will be the same.

Shu-Tefnut and Khnum represent the totality of the eye. This suggests the week will be about bringing more love and harmony into my life, or working on already-formed bonds in a concrete way.

Sopdet. . . good gracious I’ve seen her a lot. I was fond of her from the start and my fondness for her has only grown. Or she could be a he–the star is related to Shiva-Rudra as well.

Sopdet is seated in the position that compelled me to ask this question. The card in this position can also indicate the point of contact between me and the rest of the world. From an energetic standpoint, it’s the most receptive card. Sopdet represents renewal, guidance from above, harmony, a revelation, hidden knowledge, and occult knowledge.

Not sure what to make of this one. Given that Sopdet represents a lot of what’s going on in my life now and what will be happening over the next year, it makes sense that she is and continues to be a point of contact between me and the rest of the world. Since she represents renewal and resurgence, it’s also kind of obvious why she is where she is.

Anpu is seated in the position that indicates how the energies of all these cards will relate to one another. This kind of makes Anpu the lynchpin of the reading from a practical standpoints. I’m starting to feel like whatever card in this position is the card you need to embody the most. So just as I need to be like Heru throughout the year, for the coming week I should be like Anpu as well.

Anpu is all at once fierce and gentle. He is loyal and devoted (like to his step-mum [or mum, depending on what story you follow], kind of like Heru is as well! Their whole family is a beautiful example of the ideal family.) He is a gatekeeper, a guide, a protector, and keeper of the keys. Interestingly enough, he can be seen as an attendant to Sopdet. Sopdet is the Sirius star–or should I say one of the Sirius stars! Turns out there are actually two stars in a system we can call Sirius. Sopdet is the bigger one while her attendant–Anpu–is the smaller one.

Everything in this reading depends on Anpu’s devotion, sense of direction, and the care with which he discharges his duties. In other words, I need to be like that, too. And I wonder if I need to think of myself as an attendant to Sopdet as¬† well. Now, what does that mean? Your guess is just as good as mine. There’s still time to think about it. I’ll definitely need to sleep on these cards.

Anpu is also a spiritual or magical guide as well as a friend or trusted advisor.

Peret em Heru is seated in the position that symbolizes the flowing of emotions, wishes, and expectations. This card indicates total transformation, overcoming darkness and negativity, spiritual awakening, enlightenment, victory, and the successful completion of a cycle.

On a mundane level, this is just the BoDO saying, “. . . and the week ends. Ta-daaaaaah~.” On another level, this is the other side of the level where Anpu is. He, in a way, precedes Peret em Heru. You have to go with Anpu and then beyond him. I wonder if this means anything?

Djehuty is in a position that indicates the past and how it’s still carrying forward. This is a good sanity check–I’m still trying to find some sort of harmony, balance, and rightness in my life. I’m still trying to bring disparate threads together, trying to bring the raging goddess home, trying to be wiser than before. The BoDO is telling me that my actions are still congruent with a person who’s trying to be more careful and thoughtful, and who is trying to mediate between past and future, and who is trying to achieve balance.

Nekhbet is in a position that suggests how I’ll advance in my goals, or how I’ll react to things, or what’s influencing my ideals and expectations.¬† Nekhbet is the protector of the south. She is a motherly, nourishing, protective presence, who can mean illumination, gestation of plans, success through applying spiritual principles, and have clear-sightedness.

Perhaps I need to find or acknowledge someone who has my back? Perhaps I can expect to find that person? In other interpretations, I think the week will be most successful if I remember my principles (not just spiritual ones) and act with integrity. I’ll need to be clear-sighted, waiting for mud to settle before making big moves. Well, “big” in relation to the week.

Shen Ur is in a position that indicates the implementation of decisions, the power to do things, and personal action. Shen Ur is a symbol of the cosmos that, having completely emerged from the abyss, now is a picture of balance and harmony. Even though balance and harmony might, on occasion, be disturbed, it always returns to equilibrium. Shen Ur indicates life, power, and stability. It is concerned with the establishment of order, or indicates harmony restored. It can be about integration and wholeness.

This week, I think I need to bring things together if I notice they’re related. Even if they appear to be opposites, I need to integrate them with my life.

Netjer Netjeru is in the position that suggests what to do to implement decisions and reach a goal. Or it can be a simple answer to the question. Netjer Netjeru is the BoDO’s wildcard. It is the key to accomplishing something in an unexpected way. It means that anything can be done and nothing is impossible. Prepare for the unexpected.

There are so many possibilities this week, who the hell knows how I should implement a decision, or how I should specifically reach a goal? There is no solid goal right now. I think I should expect a few physical, emotional, or spiritual monkey wrenches to get thrown into the works this week. While Netjer Netjeru can have positive connotations, since anything can happen, there are negative connotations as well.

In this reading, I pulled Sopdet before Netjer Netjeru (which is why I had to pull NN in the first place). In my experience, when you pull a dupe like that, the power of that card is intensified. Sopdet is trying to tell me something. Her (or his?) power is extremely important in my life. Something or someone is returning to me, or perhaps I’m returning to them. There’s an air of renewal, knowledge, and harmony returning. The polestar has returned and is visible in the sky. Will I, Anpu, accompany it?

So what does this mean for my week? I think it means that there are going to be a lot of possibilities thrown at me. I should go through them carefully. I should continue to work with my coworker on this project and develop further rapport between us. I should ask myself who Sopdet is, where s/he comes from, and what s/he wants. I should act faithfully, no matter what I do, and need Anpu’s sense of direction, good sense, and sense of care in all things.

Sometimes the only pay-off
for having any faith
is when it’s tested again and again
everyday.

 

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.