I Hit the Mark

Be careful making wishes in the dark,
can’t be sure when they’ve hit their mark.

I just finished my BoDO reading and today the deck decided to throw ALL THE THINGS at me. Three instances of Netjer Netjeru–three! Anyway, I’m going to use this space to chew over it a bit.

As usual, the question was “how should I approach the coming week?”

                                                             Shu and Tefnut

Heru                         Renenutet

Netjer Netjeru (S&T)           Satet               Satet/Khepri

Nut                       Kerhet                        Renenutet/Wadjet   Djehuty

Sorry the pyramid is all screwed up. It never comes out right anyway, and I can’t be bothered to fix it.

So the first thing you notice here is that there are three instances of Netjer Netjeru. This doesn’t happen all that often but when it does, you should listen. Netjer Netjeru, as I’ve said before, is the BoDO’s wildcard. Anything is possible and you can expect the unexpected–negative or otherwise. When you see NN, that means the power of the card that would have been there is still in play, somewhat, but there’s a lot more up to chance as well as personal action. So in other words, my week could go very differently depending on my actions or inactions.

The card in the Sirius position is Shu and Tefnut, so they are the guiding principle of the reading. When I see these two, I think “opposites attract”, as well as the call for harmony, camaraderie, the past and future, complementing aspects, and a union of some kind.

This week, I think I’m being called upon to work through my depression and find ways to add a little more love and harmony in my life. Maybe I should understand that my depression is part and parcel of who I am. It’s kind of morbid, but we sort of belong together and just as the AO Khonsu exorcises demons by acknowledging them and respecting them, I need to acknowledge and respect this part of myself. In that way, Shu and Tefnut are a call to compassion, especially self-compassion.

Heru is in a past position that indicates past thought patterns and their influence on the present and future. Heru represents victory over adversity, perseverance, filial love and loyalty, just behavior, integrity, courage, and righteousness. I have been trying to be a little more like Heru in my thoughts and deeds. While I can’t say I’m even 1/100th like him, it has had some small effect. If I keep trying to embody Heru, even if I only succeed by 1%, I will be 100% better off than I would be if I didn’t try to embody him at all.

Renenutet is in a future-looking position that indicates a guideline for future actions. Renenutet is a goddess of fate, and she is also related to the protective royal Wadjet. Renenutet indicates good fortune, wealth, plenty, and nourishment of the body and spirit. I think this means that I need to do enough self-care this coming week, especially since I feel bad. Anything that nourishes me, that makes me realize how fortunate I am, and makes me appreciate what I have is something I should get or act upon.

Heru and Renenutet comprise the entirety of the eye. I should keep asking myself WWHD (What Would Heru Do?), but realize that there’s an element of fate at work here. I should also try to enjoy myself a bit. There’s abundance to be found for those who would look. I shouldn’t get so caught up in fighting my inner demons that I forget about the good things I have.

For the fourth position, I pulled Shu and Tefnut again, so in their place I laid Netjer Netjeru. As I said before, Netjer Netjeru is the BoDO’s wildcard. Anything can be done and I should expect the unexpected. The card in this position indicates what compelled me to ask my question in the first place. The card in this position is also my contact between me and the outside world.

It’s funny to see this card for this position. I asked my question simply because I wanted to know how to approach the coming week, especially now that I feel so sad and lost. Part of me thinks the BoDO wasn’t 100% sure what compelled me to ask this question and so placed the Sirius card here. Another part of me thinks that the BoDO wasn’t 100% sure what compelled me to ask this question, but perhaps the need to acknowledge my depression and practice self-compassion was the underlying reason.

Almost anything could be a bridge between me and the outside world at this point; however, it’s likely to involve something that, at first, seems to repulse me, or something that complements me.

Satet is seated in the position that indicates how the energies of all these cards will relate to one another. As before, I sort of have to embody the card here.

Well, whaddya know? Satet and Sopdet have some relations to one another, since Satet is involved with the Nile flood at Elephantine. Satet is a very purifying card. She sends out her energies to heal and to make things grow. When you see this card, it could mean that it’s time to start a new project, or that it’s the right time to do some thing.

This week, I need to be careful not to be too much within myself. I should also remember that depression lies: it makes you feel like you’re a loser, like you’re so filthy you couldn’t be present before anybody. But Satet purifies, and depression lies.

I’ve been hesitant to pick up shrine work for god again. Satet is probably a sign that I should start at least drawing up plans. My shrine work doesn’t have to be perfect at first–I just have to start.

For the next position, which indicates the flow of emotions, energies, expectations, and wishes (as well as how the energies of the selected card modify them), I pulled Satet again! This means I would normally place Netjer Netjeru here, but since I already placed NN, I was forced to roll once more to place Khepri in this position.

So this is kind of a knotty part of the reading. First of all, there’s the wildcard element of Satet’s influence. Satet is the goddess of the hunt (and possibly rain) who is responsible for the inundation. Like all water, the Nile can run hither and thither, either providing life, or providing death by sweeping villages and cattle away. This week I am not entirely stable, so if I’m not careful, I could flood out my entire week.

But Khepri is the main card here. Khepri represents rebirth, start of a new cycle, transformation of a situation, inner transformation, and the renewal of energies. This coming week is going to see a renewal of everything on my part. Perhaps I will be a little manic? In any case, I need to be careful about how I conduct myself.

Nut is seated in the position that refers to the past and how it’s still carrying forward. I consider it to be most influential on the card that comes after it. Nut is the ultimate cosmic mother. She is a powerful protector whose vastness reminds us to be humble in the face of the Powers. She can also refer to transcending previous limitations.

Emotionally, spiritually, and mentally, I was handicapped by some stuff that I don’t want to talk about here. Perhaps that’s what Nut is talking about here? For sure recognizing my depressive low was a huge victory for me. I can’t stress enough how amazing it is that I caught it before I ran myself into the ground.

I think the BoDO is telling me that someone is watching over me, too. I have to do that work, but up there in the sky is someone making sure I don’t fuck up too hard.

Kerhet is seated in the position that suggests how I’ll advance my goals or how I’ll react in any one situation. Kerhet is secret initiation and the transmission of occult power. I don’t really see how any of this applies to me. There is one interpretation of Kerhet’s card that speaks very powerfully to me:

Shut up. Be silent. Don’t talk. Bite your tongue. God, how I struggle with silence. I need to learn to talk less, listen more. That’s how I’m going to advance my goals. And reacting with silence to any one situation isn’t always such a bad thing. In fact, I’m convinced that a lot of troubles in the world could be stopped in their tracks if people just. Shut. The. Hell. Up.

Looking back toward Nut, I feel like a little kid who’s still being watched over. Perhaps Nut is whispering secrets? What kind of secrets a sky goddess must have!

Here’s the other knotty part of the reading: I first pulled Renenutet, thus NN, and finally Wadjet in the position that indicates the implementation of decisions, the power to do things, and personal action. I think there’s an element of fate here. This is my first “turning point” along my path and it could go anywhere, depending on how I behave. The best I can do for myself is practice gratitude and self-care.

Wadjet and Renenutet are actually closely related. I kind of think as Renenutet as Wadjet’s “softer” side. Wadjet indicates spiritual awakening and enlightenment. She’s the flow of creative energy as well as magical power and protection. She also represents royal power.

So what does this mean for me? Hard to say, so I’ll have to think about it. For now I’ll take a weak crack at it. This week I’d better tap into my creative, intuitive side, both for spiritual and mundane things. Anything to keep myself from spiraling down further, and anything to direct my energies outward and forward (and not sweep away an entire village while I’m at it).

Djehuty is seated in the position that indicates what to do to reach decisions or reach a goal (or it simply answers the question). The BoDO has a bunch of hokey Emerald Tablet stuff for Djehuty, but it does ring true with a picture of Djehuty as a master of letters, speech, sciences, etc. Djehuty represents wisdom, mediation, and magic. He is also something of a balancing card, thanks to his association with Maat.

For the week, I think there’s going to be a whole flood of feeeeelings (feelz no reelz) that need to be properly directed and utilized if I even hope to make it through the week with my head intact. Instead of ignoring these feelings or tamping down on them, I should try to use them. I should also remember self-care. This week is going to be spent mediating between spiritual, mundane, and the inner and outer forces that want to knock me off course.

I need to be quiet and thoughtful. I need to focus on harmonious relationships and integrating things that, at first glance, don’t belong at all. Lookin’ at you, depression.

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.